Online Weight Loss Coaches

How these services were checked

Published Last verified

Rubric v1.0, in force since . Every assessment on this site was produced under it, so none is marked superseded.

What question this answers, and for whom

This guide answers one question: if you pay for online weight loss coaching, what will the company commit to in writing about the price, the length of the commitment, and the qualification of the person you will be talking to. It is written for someone choosing between services before they hand over a card number or fill in an intake quiz.

It does not answer whether any of these services works. That is a different question, it needs a trial or a study, and this guide has neither.

What was actually done

We searched for national online weight loss coaching services, dietitian programs, macro coaching, and telehealth weight care. Each included service was checked against its current pricing, program, terms, credential, insurance, and company pages where available. We record what a company publishes, preserve gaps, and do not infer a credential, price, or outcome that is not stated. The first seven entries are checked daily; the rest are checked at least monthly.

How sources are weighted

A current pricing or terms page governs cost and commitment. A page naming the qualification required of every coach outranks a generic claim that coaches are “certified.” A named provider roster tells us who is present, but one founder’s doctorate does not establish the credential of the person a customer will be assigned.

First-party pages remain the source for product claims. Review platforms are used only for their own scores and collection labels; press reporting is limited to ownership and founding where noted; public regulators such as FDA are used for safety context. A more specific source wins only when it answers the same question for the same service, market, and tier.

Sourced does not mean proven true

A sourced value means the named page published it and the page was read on the date shown. It does not mean this directory audited an outcome claim, verified every practitioner’s current licence, or established that a typical customer receives the advertised result.

Completeness also measures disclosure quality, not product quality. A polished company can publish a cleaner profile than a small service with sparse pages. Open gaps are therefore not a score. The separate editorial layer explains which published facts matter and what weight they deserve.

What was not done, and why it matters

  • No service was enrolled in, paid for or used. Nothing here is a report on the experience of being coached.
  • No company was contacted. Where a price sits behind an intake quiz or a sales call, the gate is recorded as a fact and the figure is left unverified rather than obtained and reported.
  • No coach, dietitian or clinician assessed anyone on behalf of this guide, and no clinician reviewed the text. That is stated on every page rather than papered over with a badge.
  • Outcome claims were not audited. Where a company publishes a result, the cell says whether it is a peer-reviewed study or a company figure, and one company’s report page could not be opened at all.

The four criteria

These are the four things looked at on every service, in order of how much weight they carry. There is no numeric weighting because there is no score: adding percentages to a judgement made by reading web pages would be inventing precision.

1 Named coach qualifications
A licensed Registered Dietitian and a coach holding a company's own in-house certificate are different things, and only one of them is a regulated credential. Services that name the qualification are treated as more checkable than services that write 'certified coaches' and stop.
2 Published, unlocked pricing
A price a reader can see before handing over personal data is worth more than one released after an intake quiz. Services that gate pricing are still listed, but the gate is recorded as a fact about the service.
3 Honest product category
A macro coach, a prescribing telehealth clinic and a tracking app with coach access solve different problems. Each entry states which of the three it is, so a reader does not buy a prescription service expecting nutrition coaching, or the reverse.
4 Real contact with a person
The query is about coaching, so what matters is how often a human actually responds and through what channel. Cadence and channel are recorded per service rather than summarised as 'support included'.

The six superlatives, and no others

There is no score, no star and no grade anywhere on this site. What replaces them is a closed set of six labels. Every one is scoped to a named reader on the page where it appears, and no entry gets a label invented for it.

Top pick
The default recommendation for one named kind of reader. More than one entry can hold it, scoped differently.
Also great
Equally good, for a different reader.
Budget pick
The best at the lowest monthly outlay, with the threshold stated.
Upgrade pick
Worth more money for a specific, named reason.
Worth considering
Assessed, not recommended, and the reason is printed.
Not assessed
In the directory for completeness. Ledger data would come from public sources and be marked as such. No entry currently holds this label.

The five states a cell can take

Every factual cell in this guide resolves to exactly one of five states. A blank is not one of them. The difference between the last three is the whole point: they are three different claims, and a table that collapses them into one dash is telling the reader less than it appears to.

Value
The company publishes it and it was read on the date shown.
Conditional
The honest answer is yes, but. The qualification is printed under the cell, never left out.
Not offered
The service genuinely does not do this.
Not disclosed
The service has this but does not publish it. This is the most common empty cell in the dataset, and it is information about the company.
Not verified
It could not be checked from a live company page. Hovering the words gives the reason, and the reason is also printed in full on the entry page.

Across 13 services and 182 cells, 27 are not disclosed or not verified. A guide with no empty cells in a category this opaque would not have been checked.

The 14 fields, and why each is here

Fields were chosen on one test: can a reader falsify this in a couple of minutes on the company’s own site. Six of them carry the side by side table; all 14 appear on every entry page.

Price per month in the table
The number a reader is trying to find. Published on the company's own pricing page or, where it is not, marked as gated.
Longer term rate
Prepaid and annual terms change the real cost, and several services advertise the longest term as though it were the monthly price.
Minimum commitment in the table
How much money a reader is committed to before they can leave. Checkable on a pricing or terms page.
Cancellation notice
Whether the company publishes how much warning it needs before a renewal. 7 of the 13 do not.
Coach credential in the table
The field that separates this category. A licensed dietitian and a coach with an in-house certificate are different things.
Assigned human in the table
Whether one named person owns the relationship, or the reader reaches a pool, a group session or a prescriber.
Contact cadence in the table
How often a human actually responds, on the company's own stated schedule.
Contact channel
Video, message, email or group room. The channel changes the product.
Prescribes medication in the table
Whether this is a prescriber-led clinic or a coaching service. Buying the wrong one is the most expensive mistake in this category.
Requires lab work
A cost and a barrier that sits outside most advertised prices.
Bills insurance
Whether any part of the cost can run through a US health plan, and which part.
Published outcome data
Whether the company puts a result behind its claims, and whether that result is a study or a marketing figure.
Founded
Age of the operation. Sourced from reporting where a company page does not say.
Ownership
Who controls the company. One service in this directory changed hands after a restructuring and another went through Chapter 11.

What each review platform does with reviews

Every rating on this site belongs to somebody else. Each one is reported on its own entry page with the platform, the sample size and the collection method beside it, and none of them is added to another or turned into a column, because the 5 platforms below gather reviews in as many different ways. The 13 ratings, and why they do not line up.

Reviews.io
A merchant-installed platform. A company signs up, pays, and wires Reviews.io into its own order flow, so reviews are usually triggered by a purchase and carry a Verified Buyer badge. That badge confirms the reviewer bought something. It does not make the sample representative, because the company controls when the request goes out. Reviews.io does not publish an invitation-history label the way Trustpilot does, so on these pages solicitation has to be inferred from the integration rather than read off the page.
Trustpilot
Open to anyone, but a company can claim its profile, pay for a subscription, and send review invitations at scale. Trustpilot labels this on the profile, either as 'This company invites their customers to review, whether positive or negative' or as 'No recent history of asking for reviews. This company hasn't invited customers recently, so reviews may not be representative.' Those two labels describe very different samples, and the label was recorded for every Trustpilot entry below. An unclaimed profile with a handful of reviews is usually just noise.
Apple App Store
Apple ratings measure a piece of software: whether it crashes, whether the tracker syncs, whether a redesign annoyed people. They do not measure whether a coach helped anyone lose weight. Ratings are prompted inside the app, so the sample is enormous and shallow. Used here only for WeightWatchers, where the app really is the product for most members, and even there it is reported as context rather than as the headline number.
Google
Google ratings are used only when a current company-level profile can be matched to the service. Search snippets and unconfirmed local offices are not counted.
Better Business Bureau
The BBB letter grade, such as A+, reflects complaint handling and accreditation status, and accreditation is paid. It is not a customer satisfaction score. The separate customer review star rating on a BBB page usually rests on a very small number of reviews, and it is skewed toward billing and cancellation disputes, since that is what brings people to the BBB. Cited below only as secondary context, never as a headline rating.

How the two parts of the directory differ

The featured set is intentionally seven services. Those entries receive daily checks and a full comparison across every field in the rubric. The alphabetical census is broader: it currently carries 2526 profiles with a dated public source. It includes individual online coaches found through Trainerize, Instagram and TikTok alongside registered-dietitian marketplaces, non-clinical programs, employer benefits, and medical care. The source type and credentials stay visible so a social audience is never presented as a professional qualification.

An individual is included only when a public profile explicitly lists weight loss or fat loss and an online coaching offer. General fitness influencers, personal weight-loss diaries, recipe accounts, affiliates, and people whose bios do not show a coaching offer are excluded. Being cataloged is not an endorsement and does not change the seven featured entries.

How often this is re-checked

The seven featured entries are checked daily. Every other detailed entry and database record is checked at least monthly. A separate discovery pass searches official sites, coaching marketplaces, public Instagram and TikTok profiles, company news, and the wider web for new services and changed facts every day. Every record carries the date its public source was last read, and every verified material change is appended to that service's own history.

The rubric itself is versioned. This is v1.0, in force since . If it changes, entries assessed under the old version will say so on their face rather than being silently re-scored.

Money

No service in this directory has paid to be listed, to be placed where it is, or to be described the way it is. There are no affiliate links on this site, no advertising, no sponsored entries and no paid placement of any kind. Outbound links to the companies carry no tracking parameters.

If that ever changes, the change will be printed here with a date, any paid unit will be unmistakable from across the room rather than marked with a small label, and the ordering of the directory will never be for sale.

How this guide uses automation

Software was used to fetch and read the company pages listed under sources, to hold the dataset in a schema that refuses a blank cell, and to check the rendered figures against the dataset. Automated research adds a dated, sourced profile-history entry instead of silently overwriting a verified change, then opens a draft for review. A named person is responsible for the accuracy of everything published here.

Every description, verdict and exclusion reason is grounded in the source pages cited with it. Automated maintenance does not turn a search result or generated summary into evidence.

How to tell us this is wrong

Write to corrections@onlineweightlosscoaches.com. A correction gets made and logged on the corrections page with the date, what was wrong, what it now says, and who reported it. Corrections are never folded quietly into a minor update.

Site maintained by GPT-5.6-sol (high) + Claude Fable 5. Not clinically reviewed.